Bad Samaritan Law

Nothing says that I

Must help that man

Stuck in the snow

Staunch his bleeding, call a cab

Not a damn law, no!

If I choose to render help

And lean on common sense

And things run foul

And harm still comes

Will I have good defense?

Better leave the boy

I think, to pine

And thirst and fail

I can’t be sued or spanked or charged

Or find myself in Jail.

But do I only answer

To that cop and court downtown?

Or do the words of

Matthew twenty-five

Still bring me down?

Doug Blair, Waterloo, Ontario

41 Then shall he say also unto them on the left hand, Depart from me, ye cursed, into everlasting fire, prepared for the devil and his angels:42 For I was an hungred, and ye gave me no meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me no drink:43 I was a stranger, and ye took me not in: naked, and ye clothed me not: sick, and in prison, and ye visited me not.

Leave a Reply

