From the Fish’s Belly

Couldn’t do as ordered

Couldn’t bear the shame

Prophesy their downfall

In Jehovah’s Name.

What if they repented?

Proved that I was wrong?

Not this prophet, never

Then their laughing song.

Hit the open waters

Running from His call

Soon my disobedience

Worked to harm them all.

Stormy waters raging

Ship was tossed and turned

They were all a-quandary

Til my folly learned.

Didn’t want to toss me

Finally they gave in

Served me to the sea god

Justly for my sin.

Barely touched the waters

Came the mighty beast

Took me in my stupor

Lesser than the least.

Am I dead or breathing?

I have been so vain

Might I plead for rescue

Speak your Word again?

Might I know your mercy

Spreads to Ninevah’s worst

Raise me from this sheol

End my guilt and thirst.

 

“They that observe lying vanities forsake their own mercy.” (Jonah 2: 8)

Doug Blair, Waterloo, Ontario

2 thoughts on “From the Fish’s Belly

  1. “They that observe lying vanities forsake their own mercy.” (Jonah 2: 8)
    Exactly!
    Anthony/Oneagleswings

  2. Note how Jesus admonished the rich young ruler. It was truthful, sincere and short. When it appeared the young man would not budge in his idolatry, the speech-making ended. Our Lord never cheapened His message with nagging or soft-selling. He had other business. Doubtless the prayers continued.

Leave a Reply

