Truth Once Despised

This “born again”
A phrase of men
That sits not well with me.

And all the blood
A cleansing flood
That flows from Calvary?

Must each address
His sinful mess
As if to start anew?

Will not the priest
And Easter’s feast
Suffice to see us through?

But then a word
My spirit heard
Providing precious light.

‘The chicks from eggs,
The tadpole’s legs,
The Monarch at first flight.

The fruit from flower,
The rainbow shower,
The acorn, then the tree.’

And truth despised
Meets clearer eyes
And sets this captive free.

Ezekiel 36:

25Then will I sprinkle clean water upon you, and ye shall be clean: from all your filthiness, and from all your idols, will I cleanse you.

26A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you an heart of flesh.

27And I will put my spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes, and ye shall keep my judgments, and do them.

 

Doug Blair, Waterloo, ON

Leave a Reply

