Blood Suckers

“(6) As ye have therefore received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk ye in him: (7) Rooted and built up in him, and stablished in the faith, as ye have been taught, abounding therein with thanksgiving. (8) Beware lest any man spoil you through philosophy and vain deceit, after the tradition of men, after the rudiments of the world, and not after Christ. (9) For in him dwelleth all the fullness of the Godhead bodily. (10) And ye are complete in him, which is the head of all principality and power:”

mosquitoe

Please stop telling me

What Jesus is and isn’t

Does and doesn’t

sound like…

look like…

Especially if you have not yet heard nor seen Him

Please stop flooding me with Bible breath

When I’m already deep in training

perpetually straining…

to get past ambient noises

to hear the Author

He humbly, graciously, condescends to incline an ear

While the all too well intentioned deaf

Keep blubbering, bombast, nervously

boisterously, breaking awkward silences out-loud,

blessed pauses of reflections

claimed by fears

unable to distinguish whispers from screams

Urgency of agendas unclear

Leave me to be, to hear, to see

Failings are plentiful

Pains forthcoming

Trials abundant

Consequences unavoidable

Yet HE has never once failed me

Don’t paint your Jesus on me

As you see Him

Let my Jesus be my Jesus

As He Has revealed Himself to me

Where I was

Am

And have yet to be

Let a Craftsman craft

Let a Potter spin

Let a whittler whittle

Let a glass maker breathe

let a poet “Poe”

Stop telling me about your imagined Jesus

The one you’ve limited

And let me Love the Jesus

That lived

Died

Rose

Went way out of His Way

Ventured into unspeakable filth and depravity

To bear the load of me

upon HIS own shoulders 

To find me… 

And show me His Way 

And set me free 

Please… 

I beg of you, 

Just pause… 

STOP TO LISTEN

HE IS ALWAYS SPEAKING TO US 

JUST ALLOW HE… 

TO TELL YOU… 

OF HIM (Directly)

HE will not disappoint! 

You have not been listening…

How can you if you’re so busy

With the everyday buzzing busy business of things,

given greater priority? 

Stop telling me…

Of your “particular” Jesus’, 

church-ian-‘I’-ties,

in-san-‘I’-ties…

until you’ve swatted the ticklers swarming around your own ears.

earlobe

“Go, eat your food with gladness, and drink your wine with a joyful heart, for it is now that God favors what you do” (Ecclesiastes 9:7).

Leave a Reply

